Textbook Transformation Grants Round Six: Grantees and Documents

The Round Six-Eight Request for Proposals (RFP) offered grant awards to be made to support adoption, adaptation, and creation of no-or low-cost learning materials in USG courses in four categories: No-Cost-to-Students Learning Materials, OpenStax Textbooks, and Specific Top 100 Courses (which had not been implemented before within eCore or a Textbook Transformation Grant), and Interactive Course-Authoring Tools and Software.

There were two tiers of funding: one for standard transformations, and one for transformations affecting over 500 students annually or department-wide. All USG institutions, libraries, and faculty were eligible and encouraged to submit proposals. Online information forums were held on July 5, 2016 and July 11, 2016.

The Georgia Institute of Technology’s Center for 21st Century Universities (C21U) managed the review process with ALG, using the InfoReady Review platform for applications and reviews. ALG worked with a team of experienced grant reviewers who evaluated the projects in a peer review process. Proposing teams were notified of the review committee’s decision after an administrative review.

19 proposals were received from 14 USG institutions. Of these, 12 proposals from 11 USG institutions were awarded grants, covering 19 different courses.



Course Numbers

Grant Amount


Clayton State University

Sheryne Southard
Lawrence Menter

BLAW 2106
TECH 3115


Proposal 232

University of
North Georgia

Mariana Stone
Valerie Hastings
Elizabeth Combier
Kristi Hislope
Rosaria Meek
Alvaro Torres-

SPAN 1001


Proposal 234

Georgia Institute
of Technology

Shana Kerr
David Garton

BIOL 1520
BIOL 1521


Proposal 235

East Georgia
State College

Dee McKinney
Katharine Shepard

HIST 1111


Proposal 237

Dalton State

Thomas Gonzalez
Michael Hilgemann
Jason Schmurr

MATH 2253
MATH 2254
MATH 2255


Proposal 238

Georgia Gwinnett

Dovile Budryte
Scott Boykin
Michael Lewkowicz
Eric Wilk

POLS 1101


Proposal 240

South Georgia
State College

Molly Smith
Sara Selby

BIOL 2215


Proposal 241

College of
Coastal Georgia

Brian Pope
Lisa McNeal

PSYC 1101


Proposal 242

Valdosta State

Francis Flaherty
Dereth Drake
Michael Holt

PHYS 2211


Proposal 243

Georgia Highlands

Thomas Harnden
Katie Bridges

BIOL 1020


Proposal 244

East Georgia
State College

Martiana Sega
David Chevalier

BIOL 1107


Proposal 245

Fort Valley
State University

Samuel Cartwright
Bhavana Burell
Patcharin Marion
Jianmin Zhu

MATH 1154
MATH 2164
MATH 1150
MATH 3233


Proposal 246