About

ALG Champions

Affordable Learning Georgia Champions are affordable learning specialists and advocates at each USG institution. Champions work together to inform the institution about affordable resources, including open educational resources (OER), along with the fundamentals and practices behind open licensing and the potential to enhance instruction through open pedagogy.

There are three ALG Champion roles:

  • ALG Faculty Champion: a faculty instructor using no- or low-cost materials in their courses with open educational resources (OER) experience. Faculty Champions work within their campus to inform faculty, staff, and students about Affordable Learning Georgia and the benefits of open educational resources.
  • ALG Library Champion: a campus librarian with OER expertise. Library Champions work together with the Faculty Champion to identify, evaluate, and provide access to affordable, library-subscribed, and open educational resources. They also inform faculty, staff, and students about ALG and OER alongside the Faculty Champion.
  • ALG Design Champion: an instructional designer or Center for Teaching and Learning representative with open and OER-enabled pedagogy expertise. Design Champions work together with the Faculty Champion to inform faculty, staff, and students about open and OER-enabled pedagogy and to help identify ways in which it can be implemented in courses using OER. They also inform faculty, staff, and students about ALG and OER alongside the Faculty Champion and Library Champion.

New ALG Champions can take the ALG Champions Welcome Training for an introduction to ALG and the work we do.

Institution

ALG Champions

Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College

Faculty Champion: April Abbott
aabbott@abac.edu
Library Champion: David Edens
dedens@abac.edu
Design Champion: Amy Warren
awarren@abac.edu

Albany State University

Faculty Champion: Anilkumar Devarapu
anilkumar.devarapu@asurams.edu
Library Champion: LaVerne McLaughlin
laverne.mclaughlin@asurams.edu
Design Champion: Zephyrinus Okonkwo
zephyrinus.okonkwo@asurams.edu

Atlanta Metropolitan State College

Faculty Champion: Eze Nwaogu
enwaogu@atlm.edu
Library Champion: Tarita Chambers
tchambers@atlm.edu
Design Champion: Kokila Ravi
kravi@atlm.edu

Augusta University

Faculty Champion: Clément Aubert
caubert@augusta.edu
Library Champion: Melissa Johnson
mjohns69@augusta.edu
Design Champion: Stacy Kluge
skluge@augusta.edu

Clayton State University

Faculty Champion: Sheryne Southard
sherynesouthard@clayton.edu
Library Champion: Jim Rickerson
jimrickerson@clayton.edu
Design Champion: Courtney DuBois
CourtneyDuBois@clayton.edu

College of Coastal Georgia

Faculty Champion: Marci Culley
mculley@ccga.edu
Library Champion: Debbie Holmes
dholmes@ccga.edu
Design Champion: Kamika Smith
kamika.smith@ccga.edu

Columbus State University

Faculty Champion: Sherika Derico
derico_sherika@columbusstate.edu
Library Champion: Jackie Radebaugh
radebaugh_jacqueline@columbusstate.edu
Design Champion: Susan Hrach
hrach_susan@columbusstate.edu

Dalton State College

Faculty Champion: Alicia Briganti
abriganti@daltonstate.edu
Library Champion: Amy Burger
aburger1@daltonstate.edu
Design Champion: Barbara Tucker
btucker@daltonstate.edu

East Georgia State College

Faculty Champion: Deborah Lee
dlee@ega.edu
Library Champion: Beth Jones
cejones@ega.edu
Design Champion: Terri Brown
thbrown@ega.edu

Fort Valley State University

Faculty Champion: James Scott
scottj02@fvsu.edu
Library Champion: Frank Mahitab
mahitabf@fvsu.edu
Design Champion: Paul Small
smallp@fvsu.edu

Georgia College and State University

Faculty Champion: Shaundra Walker
shaundra.walker@gcsu.edu
Library Champion: Jennifer Townes
jennifer.townes@gcsu.edu
Design Champion: Jaclyn Queen
jaclyn.queen@gcsu.edu

Georgia Gwinnett College

Faculty Champion: Cathy Hakes
chakes@ggc.edu
Library Champion: Barb Mann
bmann@ggc.edu
Design Champion: Christine Robinson
crobinson@ggc.edu

Georgia Highlands College

Faculty Champion: Sharryse Henderson
shenders@highlands.edu
Library Champion: Susanna Smith
sussmith@highlands.edu
Design Champion: Rachel Rupprecht
rrupprec@highlands.edu

Georgia Institute of Technology

Faculty Champion: David Joyner
david.joyner@gatech.edu
Library Champion: Liz Holdsworth
liz.holdsworth@library.gatech.edu
Design Champion: Chaohua Ou
cou@gatech.edu

Georgia Southern University

Faculty Champion: Chelda Smith
cheldasmith@georgiasouthern.edu
Library Champion: Nikki Rech
dcannonrech@georgiasouthern.edu
Design Champion: Debbie Walker
dwalker@georgiasouthern.edu

Georgia Southwestern State University

Faculty Champion: Judy Orton
judy.orton@gsw.edu
Library Champion: Ru Story-Huffman
ru.story-huffman@gsw.edu
Design Champion: John Wilson
john.wilson@gsw.edu

Georgia State University

Main Campus:
Faculty Champion: Scott Jacques
sjacques1@gsu.edu
Library Champion: Denise Dimsdale
mdimsdale@gsu.edu
Design Champion: Katie Bridges
kbridges@gsu.edu

Perimeter College:
Faculty Champion: Katy Crowther
kcrowther@gsu.edu
Library Champion: Christopher Moffat
cmoffat1@gsu.edu
Design Champion: Mustafa Elsawy
elsawy@gsu.edu

Gordon State College

Faculty Champion: Lynn Rumfelt
lrumfelt@gordonstate.edu
Library Champion: Brenda Rutherford
brendar@gordonstate.edu
Design Champion: Angiah Davis
adavis1@gordonstate.edu

Kennesaw State University

Faculty Champion: Tammy Powell
tpowel25@kennesaw.edu
Library Champion: Chelsee Dickson
cdickso5@kennesaw.edu
Design Champion: Kelley Price
kgermain@kennesaw.edu

Middle Georgia State University

Faculty Champion: Christopher Lawrence
christopher.lawrence@mga.edu
Library Champion: Dana Casper
dana.casper@mga.edu
Design Champion: Alison Nooks
alison.nooks@mga.edu

Savannah State University

Faculty Champion: Antonio Velazquez
velazqueza@savannahstate.edu
Library Champion: Jennifer West
westj@savannahstate.edu
Design Champion: Alberto De La Cruz
delacruz@savannahstate.edu

South Georgia State College

Faculty Champion: Molly Smith
molly.smith@sgsc.edu
Library Champion: Janice Williams
janice.williams@sgsc.edu
Design Champion: Sara Selby
sara.selby@sgsc.edu

University of Georgia

Faculty Champion: Philip Bishop
philip.bishop@uga.edu
Library Champion: Mariann Samuel
mariann@uga.edu
Design Champion: James Castle
jcastle@uga.edu

University of North Georgia

Faculty Champion: Tamara Spike

tamara.spike@ung.edu
Library Champion: Monique Martinez
monique.martinez@ung.edu
Design Champion: Bonnie (BJ) Robinson
bj.robinson@ung.edu

University of West Georgia

Faculty Champion: Rod McRae
rmcrae@westga.edu
Library Champion: CJ Ivory
civory@westga.edu
Design Champion: Stephanie Hollenbeck
shollenb@westga.edu

Valdosta State University

Faculty Champion: Jan Drake
djdrake@valdosta.edu
Library Champion: Michael Holt
moholt@valdosta.edu