Staff & Champions

ALG Champions

ALG Champions are affordable learning specialists and advocates at each USG institution. Champions work together to inform the institution about affordable resources, including open educational resources, along with the fundamentals and practices behind open licensing and the potential to enhance instruction through open pedagogy.

ALG Faculty Champion

A faculty instructor using no- or low-cost materials in their courses with open educational resources (OER) experience. Faculty Champions work within their campus to inform faculty, staff, and students about Affordable Learning Georgia and the benefits of open educational resources.

ALG Library Champion

A campus librarian with OER expertise. Library Champions work together with the Faculty Champion to identify, evaluate, and provide access to affordable, library-subscribed, and open educational resources. They also inform faculty, staff, and students about ALG and OER alongside the Faculty Champion.

ALG Design Champion

An instructional designer or Center for Teaching and Learning representative with open and OER-enabled pedagogy expertise. Design Champions work together with the Faculty Champion to inform faculty, staff, and students about open and OER-enabled pedagogy and to help identify ways in which it can be implemented in courses using OER. They also inform faculty, staff, and students about ALG and OER alongside the Faculty Champion and Library Champion.

Find your local champion


ALG Champions

Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College

Faculty Champion: April Abbott
Library Champion: David Edens
Design Champion: Amy Warren

Albany State University

Faculty Champion: Anilkumar Devarapu
Library Champion: LaVerne McLaughlin
Design Champion: Zephyrinus Okonkwo

Atlanta Metropolitan State College

Faculty Champion: Eze Nwaogu
Library Champion: Tarita Chambers
Design Champion: Kokila Ravi

Augusta University

Faculty Champion: Andrew Goss
Library Champion: Melissa Johnson
Design Champion: Arthur Takahashi

Clayton State University

Faculty Champion: Sheryne Southard
Library Champion: David Greenebaum
Design Champion: Corneliu Chiorescu

College of Coastal Georgia

Faculty Champion: Dantera Tangpisuthipongsa 
Library Champion: Debbie Holmes 
Design Champion:  Lisa McNeal 

Columbus State University

Faculty Champion: Brian Muse
Library Champion: Alan Karass
Design Champion: Randall Garver

Dalton State College

Faculty Champion: Alicia Briganti
Library Champion: Amy Burger
Design Champion: Barbara Tucker

East Georgia State College

Faculty Champion: Deborah Lee
Library Champion: Meghan Crews
Design Champion: Terri Brown

Fort Valley State University

Faculty Champion: Patcharin Marion
Library Champion: Frank Mahitab
Design Champion: Amanda Glover

Georgia College and State University

Faculty Champion: Shaundra Walker
Library Champion: Jonathan Harwell
Design Champion: Jaclyn Queen

Georgia Gwinnett College

Faculty Champion: Marie Firestone
Library Champion: Christopher Matz
Design Champion: Tracy Adkins

Georgia Highlands College

Faculty Champion: Sharryse Henderson
Library Champion: Susanna Smith
Design Champion: Rachel Rupprecht

Georgia Institute of Technology

Faculty Champion: David Joyner 
Library Champion: Mack Freeman
Design Champion: Chaohua Ou

Georgia Southern University

Faculty Champion: Chelda Smith 
Library Champion: Nikki Rech
Design Champion: Debbie Walker

Georgia Southwestern State University

Faculty Champion:
Judy Orton
Sally Merritt
Library Champion: Ru Story-Huffman
Design Champion: John Wilson

Georgia State University

Main Campus:
Faculty Champion: Scott Jacques
Library Champion: Denise George 
Design Champion: Joju Cleaver

Perimeter College:
Faculty Champion: Cyntoria Johnson
Library Champion: Stephanie Burnham
Design Champion: Mustafa Elsawy

Gordon State College

Faculty Champion: Lynn Rumfelt
Library Champion: Carla Fredd
Design Champion: Angiah Davis

Kennesaw State University

Faculty Champion: Kimberly Loomis
Co-Champion: Uli Ingram
Library Champion: Chelsee Dickson 
Design Champion: Kelley Price

Middle Georgia State University

Faculty Champion: Donna Balding
Library Champion: Dana Casper  
Design Champion: Katie Shepard

Savannah State University

Faculty Champion: Antonio Velazquez
Library Champion: Elle Davis
Design Champion: Alberto De La Cruz

South Georgia State College

Faculty Champion: Molly Smith 
Library Champion: Janice Williams
Design Champion: Sara Selby

University of Georgia

Faculty Champion: Megan Mittelstadt
Library Champion: Mariann Samuel
Design Champion: James Castle

University of North Georgia

Faculty Champion: Laura Getty
Library Champion: Monique Martinez
Design Champion: Bonnie (BJ) Robinson

University of West Georgia

Faculty Champion: Agnieska Chwialkowska
Library Champion: CJ Ivory
Design Champion: Brian Roberts

Valdosta State University

Faculty Champion: Jan Drake
Library Champion: Kytt Pavlakovich
Design Champion: Bryan FitzGerald

Jeff Gallant

Jeff GallantProgram Director

Jeff Gallant has been with ALG since 2014 when it was a pilot program. He regularly consults with new open education programs and presents on program management, strategic planning, grant programs, data collection, and reporting. He has been a mentor in the SPARC Open Education Leadership Program since its inception in 2017, a mentoring faculty member of the AAC&U Institute on OER since its inception in 2021, and a co-author of The OER Starter Kit for Program Managers

Nakita Afaha

Nakita AfahaProgram Manager

Nakita Afaha joined Affordable Learning Georgia in May 2023. She earned her bachelor's degree in business education from James Madison University in Virginia and holds a master's degree in adult education from Troy University in Alabama. She also holds an education specialist degree in instructional technology from the University of West Georgia. Before coming to ALG, Nakita worked at other USG institutions, including Georgia State University in the area of online education. 

How we created our statewide champions network