About

Recognition Awards for Innovation and Early Success In Textbook Transformation

Winners of the ALG Recognition Awards for Success in Early Textbook Transformation
Recognition Awards recipients in attendance at the Symposium on the Future of the Textbook 2014

Affordable Learning Georgia has been working with Campus Champions and Library Coordinators to raise awareness about how affordability, accessibility, and choice in learning materials can improve student success and potentially increase retention, progression, and graduation.

The ALG Recognition Awards for Innovation and Early Success in Textbook Transformation honor these pioneering faculty for their transformations of the textbook to no-cost Open Educational Resources, saving USG students more than $1,000,000 in Academic Year 2014 alone. Awards will be presented during the closing program of the Symposium on the Future of the Textbook.

Congratulations and kudos to all!

Awardees Slideshow (PPT)

Name

Discipline/Department

Institution

Email Address

Dr. Sanjeev Arora

Physics

Fort Valley State University

aroras@fvsu.edu

Dr. Peggy Brickman

Plant Biology

University of Georgia

brickman@uga.edu

Dr. Katie L. Brkich

Teaching & Learning

Georgia Southern University

kbrkich@georgiasouthern.edu

Dr. Susan Burran

Biology

Dalton State College

sburran@daltonstate.edu

Dr. Andrew Edelman

Animal Ecology & Conservation

University of West Georgia

aedelman@westga.edu

Dr. Hassan El-Najjar

Sociology

Dalton State College

helnajjar@daltonstate.edu

Mary Jo Fayoyin

Library Services

Savannah State University

fayoyinm@savannahstate.edu

Dr. Priya Goeser

Engineering

Armstrong State University

priya.goeser@armstrong.edu

Dr. Greg Gowens

Physics

University of West Georgia

ggowens@westga.edu

Dr. H. David Hunt

Sociology

Georgia Regents University

hdhunt@gru.edu

Dr. Steven Lewis

Physics

University of Georgia

lewis@physast.uga.edu

Dr. Anissa Lokey-Vega

Instructional Technology

Kennesaw State University

avega4@kennesaw.edu

Dr. Jeffrey Mahr

Biology

Georgia Perimeter College

jeffrey.mahr@gpc.edu

Dr. Robert A. Maxwell

Biology

Georgia State University

bioram@langate.gsu.edu

Dr. Taha Mzoughi

Physics Education

Kennesaw State University

tmzoughi@kennesaw.edu

Dr. Arun Saha

Physics

Albany State University

arun.saha@asurams.edu

Dr. Julius E. Schneider

Biology

East Georgia State College

jschneid@ega.edu

Jeanne Sewell

Nursing Informatics

Georgia College and State University

jeanne.sewell@gcsu.edu

Dr. Theresa Stanley

Biology

Gordon State College

t_stanley@gordonstate.edu

Dr. Richard Stephens

Mathematics

Columbus State University

stephens_richard2@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Diana Sturges

Anatomy and Physiology

Georgia Southern University

dsturges@georgiasouthern.edu

Dr. Al Walters

Physics

University of North Georgia

al.walters@ung.edu

Dr. Matthew Williamson

Anatomy and Physiology

Georgia Southern University

mwilliam@georgiasouthern.edu

Dr. Humayun Zafar

Information Security

Kennesaw State University

hzafar@kennesaw.edu